Mesa Journeys



star awards san diego mesa college
STAR Awards/Events

Save the Date:

12th Annual STudent Athlete Recognition (STAR) Awards

When: Tuesday, May 7th, 2019

Location: Mesa Gym

Time: 12:45-2:15pm, check in starts at 12:15pm

Keynote Speaker: Lindsey Fleet

2019 Honoree: Kristy Carson, San Diego Mesa Counselor and Professor

STAR Awards Nominations

Please nominate a fellow teammate for the following awards:

1. Super STAR Award


2. The Individual Community Spirit Award

You may obtain the STAR Awards 2019 Nomination Form online here or if you need more assistance please see Coach Nathan Resch, Kristy Carson or Valerie Pallares-Herrea.

RSVP by Friday, April 5th, 2019.  You must RSVP to attend this FREE event and receive a yummy FREE lunch.

If you are a student-athlete and did not RSVP you can show up by 12:30pm on event day and see if you can attend based on room and food.  Please try to come.  

What is the STAR Awards?

With 10 men's and 11 women's intercollegiate teams, Mesa College has one of the largest competitive community college athletic programs in the region. The annual STAR Awards recognizes the academic achievements, community spirit, and athletic excellence of Mesa College student athletes.

Awards are given in a variety of categories including highest individual and team GPA, individual and team community spirit award, team attendance award and the Super STAR award. 

** Highlights from the 2019 event ** Coming June 2019

Photos from the event, click here

Youtube video of the event, 

2019 Honoree: Kristy Carson, Counselor and Professor at Mesa College.  

2019 Keynote: Lindsey Fleet

2018-2019 STAR Awards Winners:

Team Attendance Award: TBD

Top Women's GPA Winner for Spring 2018: 

Top Men's GPA Winner for Spring 2018: 

Top Women's GPA Winner for Fall 2018: 

Top Men's GPA winner for fall 2018: 

Highest Individual GPA Award Winners: student-athlete had to be full time in the year of 2018 for both spring and fall and competing to win this award).

Team Community Spirit Award: 

Individual Community Spirit Award: 

SUPER STAR Award Winner: